This is a legacy provincial website of the ATA. Visit our new website here.

Alberta teachers elect vice-presidents, district representatives

March 17, 2021 ATA News Staff

Greg Carabine will be the Association’s newest vice-president.

The former district representative for Edmonton McMurray joins incumbent vice-president Jenny Regal following the conclusion of online voting for Provincial Executive Council. Carabine and Regal emerged victorious in a three-person race for vice-president.

It will be Regal’s third term as vice-president. She looks forward to uniting teachers around common goals that serve students and communities. Carabine is looking forward to continuing his work advocating for improved working conditions and much more for teachers.

While Jason Schilling was acclaimed for his second term as president, the election featured races in four districts: Calgary City, Central South, Edmonton District and Edmonton McMurray.

District representatives

All three incumbents in Calgary City kept their seats: Kathy Hoehn, Kevin Kempt and Darren Moroz. Don Brookwell (Central South) and Paul Froese (Edmonton District) fended off challenges for their district representative seats. In Edmonton McMurray, Nancy Ball and Carmen Glossop where reelected and will be joined by current vice-president Darrin Bauer who opted to run for district representative this term.

The remaining eight district representatives are incumbents who were acclaimed to their positions: Karen Nakaska (Calgary District), Brent Baum (Central), Murray Lalonde (Central East) Paul Froese (Edmonton District), Peter MacKay (North West), Katherine Pritchard (South West) and Heather McCaig (South East). New to the PEC table is Richard Kremp (Central North).

More than 6,000 active and associate members participated in the online vote in early March. The results were announced March 12. The new council officially takes office July 1.



Jason Schilling




Jenny Regal and Greg Carabine


District Representatives 

Calgary City


Kathy Hoehn


Kevin Kempt


Darren Moroz


Edmonton McMurray


Nancy Ball


Darrin Bauer


Carmen Glossop

Calgary District


Karen Nakaska



Brenton Baum

Central East


Murray LaLonde

Edmonton District


Paul Froese

Central North


Richard Kremp

Central North


Don Brookwell

North West


Peter MacKay

South East


Heather McCaig

South West


Katherine Pritchard


About PEC

The Provincial Executive Council (PEC) leads and transacts the business of the Alberta Teachers’ Association on behalf of its 40,000-plus members. PEC is made up of the Association’s five table officers (the president, two vice-presidents, the past president and the executive secretary), plus 15 district representatives.

The president and vice-presidents are elected by a provincewide vote of Association members. District representatives are elected by members in their geographic district. All elected positions are subject to two-year terms. Terms for elected members will begin July 1, 2021.

Also In This Issue