This is a legacy provincial website of the ATA. Visit our new website here.

Froese wins Edmonton District byelection

February 23, 2016 Laura Harris, ATA News Staff

Paul Froese defeated Karen Wilson by 96 votes to become the new district representative for Edmonton District. Results of the byelection were announced Feb. 12, concluding a campaign period that was slightly more than three weeks long.

Froese is a teacher with Sturgeon School Division and has a long history of involvement with the Alberta Teachers’ Association at the provincial and local levels. He became vice-president of Sturgeon ATA Local No. 27 shortly after starting his teaching career and for the last seven years was its president. For the last 28 years he has been among the teacher delegates representing his local at the Annual Representative Assembly (ARA), where Association policy is debated and established.

Association president Mark Ramsankar is looking forward to working with Froese on Provincial Executive Council.

“I knew of Paul from my early days as a delegate at ARA and, of course, have gotten to know more about him through my work as vice-president and now president,” said Ramsankar. “What consistently comes across from him is his genuine concern for his colleagues and the teaching profession. I know he will represent well the teachers of Edmonton District.”

To Wilson, Ramsankar extended his thanks.

“There was a contested race in Edmonton District for the first time since 1999, and it was because two people stepped up to the plate” he said. “Karen Wilson was one of them, and I truly appreciate the commitment she made in running for the position.”

Edmonton District is one of 11 ATA geographic districts. It encompasses five school jurisdictions: Elk Island Catholic Schools, Elk Island Public Schools, Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools, St. Albert Public Schools and Sturgeon School Division. ❚


Also In This Issue