This is a legacy provincial website of the ATA. Visit our new website here.

New president takes over at CTF

August 25, 2015 ATA News Staff

Ramsankar re-elected as vice-president

New Brunswick principal Heather Smith is the new president of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), following a changeover at the CTF annual general meeting (AGM) in Ottawa on July 20.

Smith, from Bathurst, N.B., was elected as president-designate at last year’s AGM. She replaces Dianne Woloschuk, who has completed her two-year term.

“Throughout my career I have had the chance to work with countless talented students and teachers, all of whom have taught me valuable lessons about the issues and obstacles in Canadian education today,” Smith said.

“I look forward to the challenges ahead and the chance to work in partnership with my fellow educators, so as to make their voices heard on the national stage.”

A former president of the New Brunswick Teachers’ Association (NBTA), Smith was named one of Canada’s outstanding principals by the Learning Partnership in 2011 and brings more than 32 years of teaching experience to CTF.

Smith holds a bachelor of child study degree in elementary and special education and a master of education in literacy from Mount Saint Vincent University. She has also previously served as the vice-president on the CTF executive committee. ❚

Alberta Teachers’ Association president Mark Ramsankar was elected to another one-year term on the CTF executive committee for 2015/16. Other members of the executive are

  • Norman Gould, vice-president (Manitoba Teachers’ Society)
  • Carol Jolin, vice-president (Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens)
  • Gayla Meredith, vice-president (Northwest Territories Teachers’ Association).

Also In This Issue