*This is a legacy provincial website of the ATA. Visit our new website here

Educational Research Award

The Alberta Teachers’ Association Educational Research Award, valued at $5,000, is presented annually to a faculty of education member or sessional lecturer at an Alberta university or at a university college that the Association recognizes who has undertaken high quality research on classroom teaching and learning.


To qualify for an award, the research must meet the following criteria:

  • Be directly related to school and classroom practice.
  • Be focused on school teaching and/or learning.
  • Be current (either ongoing or completed within the last two years).
  • Be related to critical issues.
  • Have involved classroom teachers and/or students.
  • Be applicable to the Alberta context.
  • Be of practical benefit to teachers in improving their professional practice.
  • Be of high quality in terms of purpose, methodology and originality.

The researcher(s) must also be prepared to present the research to Association subgroups.

Selection and Announcement of Recipient

A selection panel consisting of five educators (four Association representatives and one retired faculty of education professor) will meet in late spring or early summer to review the applications and to select a potential recipient. The panel will forward the name to the ATA’s Table Officers Committee, which makes the final decision. 

Applying for an Educational Research Award

Complete the online application form to apply for an Educational Research Award 

The deadline for applying for an Educational Research Award is May 15, 2023.

For Further Information

Further information about the award can be obtained by contacting Dr Philip McRae philip.mcrae@ata.ab.ca or by phone at 780-447-9469 (in Edmonton) or 1-800-232-7208 (elsewhere in Alberta).

Previous Award Recipients

2022 Dr Corey Wright-Maley. “Alberta Preservice Teachers Learn about Slavery in Canada, many for the First Time.” St Mary's University
2021 Dr Cathryn van Kessel. “Teacher Education, Diversity, and Worldview Threat.” University of Alberta
2020 Dr Zaidi Rahat. Optimizing Parent-Teacher Collaboration in Refugee Children’s Learning. University of Calgary.
2019 Dr George Georgiou. Response to Intervention: Schools where all children learn to read. University of Alberta.
2018 Dr Laurent Cammarata. Integrated Content, Language and Literacy Instruction in a Canadian French Immersion Context: A Professional Development Journey. University of Alberta, Campus Saint-Jean.
2017 Dr Jo Towers. Mathematics, Experiences, Images and Identities. University of Calgary. 
2016 Dr Diane Conrad and Dr Dwayne Donald. The Indigenous Students: A Youth Exchange through Arts and Technology—Stories of Culture, Identity, Community and Place. University of Alberta.
2015 Dr Darren Lund. Social Justice at the Heart of Public Education: CTF Monogram and the Service-Learning Program. University of Calgary.
2014 Dr Bonnie Shapiro. Engaging Teachers in Semiotic Readings of Environmental Messages in Teaching and Learning Settings. University of Calgary.
2013 Christopher Gilham. From Segregation to Inclusion: Seeing Students with Code 42 Designation as Capable. University of Calgary.
2012 Dr Lynne Wiltse. Drawing on Students' Funds of Knowledge to Improve School Literacies for Aboriginal Youth