*This is a legacy provincial website of the ATA. Visit our new website here

Association Overview

For the purposes of administration, the Association is divided into 55 subsystems known as locals. Each local includes teachers employed by a school division or a school district. Although a local may include the teachers of more than one school jurisdiction, all teachers in any one school jurisdiction must belong to the same local. Locals, in turn, are grouped into 11 larger units, known as geographic districts.

The Association is governed by an annual meeting known as the Annual Representative Assembly, which is composed of delegates representing the various locals. The Assembly takes place on the May long weekend. Each local is entitled to representation according to population and is guaranteed at least two representatives. The current formula results in an Assembly consisting of approximately 425 representatives. The Assembly, which may be thought of as the Association’s parliament, approves the annual budget, decides on revisions to the bylaws, determines the programs to be offered in the following year and establishes the Association’s policy on educational issues.

Between annual meetings, the business of the Association is transacted by an executive committee of 20 persons, known as the Provincial Executive Council. On average, Council meets 20 days in each year. Council’s executive officers are the president, two vice-presidents, the past president and the executive secretary. The 15 other members of Council are the representatives of the 11 geographic districts. Calgary City District and Edmonton City District each have three representatives, and the nine other districts each have one.

Each of the 15 district representatives is elected by the members of the geographic district and serves a two-year term. The president and vice-presidents, who also serve two-year terms, are elected by vote of the members provincially. Elections take place in early spring, and terms of office commence July 1.

Provincial Executive Council establishes committees to advise it and to assist in the business of the Association. Appointments to these committees are made annually.

The policies formulated by the Annual Representative Assembly, decisions of Provincial Executive Council and the work of committees are implemented by an administrative arm or secretariat. The chief executive officer is the executive secretary, who is also an officer of Provincial Executive Council. Appointed by Council and responsible to it for the operation of the secretariat, the executive secretary is assisted by an associate executive secretary, an assistant executive secretary and a staff of approximately 157. Staff work in four program areas: Government and Administration, Member Services, Professional Development and Teacher Welfare.

Download the ATA Structure and Organization chart .